<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d12455442\x26blogName\x3dDid+You+Know?\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://universalfacts.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://universalfacts.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d-2101760123555155714', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>
An informative site with content that provides interesting facts to know, learn and/or ponder about, at a level of coverage that is extensive in all subject areas to reach a wide audience. This is your source for everything to do with factual Knowledge. New content is published once each week.

The Web This Site

Countries With Multiple Capital Cities

Published Saturday, August 04, 2007

A country’s capital is usually the principal city associated with a country's seat of government. Historically, the capital is usually the major economic center of a nation and the center of political power (administrative, legislative and judicial headquarters). However, today, this is not always the case for all capital cities, there are countries with unorthodox capital cities which are not host to the seat of government or even the most populous cities. Thus, a capital city is not necessarily the symbol for the state and its government, one can be it's seat of government and the other it's legal capital - a separation of administrative, legislative, and judicial headquarters between cities. This may be due to pragmatic reasons or situations in that country.

Here's a short list of countries worldwide with multiple capital cities.

Countries of the World with Multiple Capital Cities

Porto-Novo is the official capital of Benin.
Cotonou is the seat of government.

La Paz is the administrative capital of Bolivia.
Sucre is the legislative and judicial (constitutional) capital - official capital.

Santiago is the seat of national administrative and judicial bodies - official capital.
Valparaíso is the seat of national legislature.

Cote d'Ivoire
Yamoussoukro is the official capital.
Abidjan is the De facto seat of government (many government offices and embassies are here).

Jerusalem is the capital city.
Tel Aviv is where most embassies for foreign countries are located due to the dispute between Israel and the West Bank for Jerusalem - temporary de facto capital .

Kuala Lumpur is the seat of national legislature - official capital.
Putrajaya is the administrative capital and seat of national judiciary.

Podgorica is the official and de facto capital.
Cetinje is an historical capital - "Old royal capital". It however, possesses no national governmental functions.

Amsterdam is the official (constitutional) capital.
The Hague is the (de facto) seat of government and residence of the monarchy - national administrative, legislative, judicial and royal bodies.

Abuja is the official capital.
Lagos is the home of most offices and functions which remain after the capital moved to Abuja. It is also the most populous city.

Baguio City is the seat of executive and judiciary during Summer months - summer
Manila is the official and de facto capital - seat of executive and judiciary.
Quezon City is the seat of lower legislature.
Pasay City is the seat of upper legislature.

South Africa
Pretoria is the administrative capital.
Cape Town is the legislative capital.
Bloemfontein is the Judicial capital.

Sri Lanka
Kotte is the administrative capital.
Colombo is the official Commercial capital.

Mbabane is the administrative capital.
Lobamba is the royal and legislative capital.

Dodoma is the official capital.
Dar es Salaam is the De facto capital city - seat of government.

Related Articles:
List of countries by continent
European Union (EU): List of Countries in the EU
United Nations: List of Member States
Countries around the World and their Capital City
States and Capitals: The 50 States of America and their Capitals
Spanish Speaking Countries - Countries Where Spanish Is Mostly Spoken
Smallest country in the world

International Currencies: Countries and their Currencies
Airlines of the World: Countries and their Airlines
Mottos for countries around the world
Languages by Countries

Labels: ,

Add to your favorite at Teachnorati | Submit to Boing Boing | Subscribe to Feed


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Headline | About Site | MyGame

Message Board
FeedBack Appreciated

Please spare some time to give your feedback about this site. Thanks in advance.

Message from the Author
R. Edmondson United States

Did You Know site is used as a learning tool to provide a stimulating learning environment for general knowledge development; to promote increased diversity on the online learning community and to incorporate the site’s informative quality content with the best of online communication platform (blog) in making knowledge accessible and free to all.

Thanks for the support.
Click The [+] Button To View [−]
Subscribe in Rojo Add to My Yahoo! Subscribe with Bloglines Subscribe in NewsGator Online Subscribe with Pluck RSS reader Add 'Did You Know?' to Newsburst from CNET News.com Subscribe with SearchFox RSS Google Reader Add to My AOL del.icio.us Did You Know? Subscribe with myFeedster Furl Did You Know? Feed Your Feeds Kinja Digest Solosub MultiRSS Rmail Rss fwd Blogarithm MSN Alerts Eskobo gritwire BotABlog Subscribe in FeedLounge

Subscribe through FEEDBURNER.
Subscribe with Bloglines

Get hundreds of visitors to your blog!
Click The [+] Button To View [−]
Click The [+] Button To View
Reviews For This Site [−]

Did You Know Question [−]
For another question, click your browser Reload or Refresh button .

Site Recognition [−]

Cool Site of the Day
March, 2007
Canadian Web Award

This Site Is Approved By: [−]

Science News Of Interest [−]

Powered by Blogger Creative Commons License

BlogAdvance Top Blogs

Your Ad Here
© 2005 - 2009 by R. Edmondson - myuniversalfacts.com (Did You Know?). All rights reserved.
About Site | Copyright Info. | Disclaimer | FAQ | Link To Us | Privacy Policy | Make $$$$ | Free Stuff
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
~Your source for interesting facts across the world~